School Council

2021-22 Meeting Dates:
Sept. 9, 2021 @ 7:45 a.m.
Nov. 4, 2021 @ 7:45 a.m.
Feb. 3, 2022 @ 7:45 a.m.
May 5, 2022 @ 7:45 a.m.
School councils are comprised of a minimum of seven council members:
  • The principal;
  • At least two certificated teachers;
  • A number of parents, so that parents make up a majority of the council.
  • At least 2 parents must be businesspersons; and
  • Other members as specified in the council's bylaws.
Council members serve a term of two years, or for a term specified in the council's bylaws.
All members of the School Council must:
  • Maintain a school-wide perspective on issues;
  • Regularly participate in council meetings;
  • Participate in information and training programs;
  • Act as a link between the school council and the community;
  • Encourage the participation of parents and others within the school community; and
  • Work to improve student achievement and performance.
Any BMS parent is welcome to attend School Council meetings. However, only School Council Members take part in voting actions.
2021-22 School Council Members
Mark Anthony, Business Representative
Mary Brody, Parent Representative and Chairperson
Donna Cline, Parent Representative
Ashley Curington, Business Representative
Laura Beth Short, Principal
Christi Gowen, Parent Representative
David Johnson, Business Representative and Parent Representative
Lauren Larson, BMS Teacher of the Year
​Theresa Williamson, Parent Representative
Lisa Winter, BMS Counselor and Secretary